Posted in Healing from Lymes, Lymes and Other Tick-Borne Illnesses, Thyroid Health and Hashimotos Awareness

Additional Supplements — 6 Days In and Nearly Halfway Through My List

The last several days have consisted of LOTS of ups and downs, including a REALLY hard day yesterday. I would even dare to say one of my worst days YET.

On Saturday, May 27th I introduced zinc into my supplement regime. 15 mg per day (as zinc picolinate), taken in the morning with food. Link to product on Amazon below.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B0017QCNUQ/ref=mp_s_a_1_1_a_it?ie=UTF8&qid=1496083689&sr=8-1&keywords=pure+encapsulations+zinc+15

https://www.google.com/amp/s/kimmiecakeskickslyme.wordpress.com/2014/01/25/magnesium-and-lyme-disease/amp/

https://www.google.com/amp/s/draxe.com/zinc-deficiency/amp/

On Sunday, May 28th I introduced selenium. 200 mcg per day (as selenomethionine), taken in the morning with food. Link to product on Amazon below. Selenium is also a KEY antioxidant for proper thyroid health. As directly quoted from Hypothyroid Mom (link below), ” In it’s prevention against oxidative stress, we can think of this key mineral as useful in thwarting heart disease, rheumatoid arthritis, and, as I noted, cancer, among other things. It’s a precursor to the production of glutathione, the “mother” of all antioxidants. It’s depleted in our soil, due to a number of environmental factors, and blood levels of selenium have been shown to plummet as we age, leading to increased cognitive decline.”

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B000H85L5Y/ref=mp_s_a_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1496083726&sr=8-2-spons&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_QL65&keywords=pure+encapsulations+selenium&psc=1

http://hypothyroidmom.com/thyroid-signs-symptoms-and-selenium/

Today I introduced magnesium glycinate. 120 mg, taken at noon with food and before bed. Link to product on Amazon below. As directly quoted from The Wellness Mama (link below), “Magnesium is responsible for over 300 biochemical reactions in the body and impacts blood pressure, metabolism, immune function and many other aspects of health. Magnesium deficiency is a widespread problem and some estimates suggest that over 90% of us are deficient.”

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B0058HWV9S/ref=mp_s_a_1_2_a_it?ie=UTF8&qid=1496083868&sr=8-2&keywords=pure+encapsulations+magnesium+glycinate

https://wellnessmama.com/54128/signs-of-magnesium-deficiency/

Here is an article I found to be helpful in explaining why zinc and magnesium (in addition to a few other supplements such as Vitamin C & Vitamin D) are helpful in an immune-boosting supplement regimen for someone dealing with Lymes.

http://www.prohealth.com/lyme/library/showarticle.cfm?libid=28827&B2=BNRHPFA&utm_source=BNRHPFA&utm_campaign=Home-Page-Trending-Article

However, I am first-handedly discovering that you can still “Herx,” even when boosting your immune system to fight Lymes. It doesn’t matter whether or not you are killing off the bacteria with antibiotics OR boosting your immune system naturally in order to be able to fight against the stealth borrelia invaders… point is that oftentimes you find yourself feeling FAR WORSE before any apparent signs you are ever going to FEEL BETTER. I spent the better part of 18 hours in bed sleeping yesterday, unable to lift my head off my pillow or lift my hands to check my ever-incessantly beeping phone across the room. Lymes Disease is no joke. I am 6 days into “Phase 1: Introducing Supplements” on my healing from Lymes journey. I have 7 more days (one more week) of introducing 7 more supplements), and then I am on to “Phase 2: Antibiotics.”
Thank you for joining me on this walk, and be assured that I pray for you as you pray for me! I make daily silent intentions for all visitors to my blog and Facebook page.

Author:

I am a stay-at-home, Minnesotan, Catholic mom of eight! My mission in life is the salvation of my family. I live every day to the fullest--as if it were my last--striving for holiness and to bring glory to God through my life and vocation! I am also a #lymewarrior, #lymiemama, and #hashisgirl. "Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not yet come. We only have today. Let us begin." "Do not think that love, in order to be genuine, has to be extraordinary. What we need is to love without getting tired. Be faithful in small things because it is in them that your strength lies." St. Mother Teresa of Calcutta

Leave a Reply

